About the Department

Founded in 1935, the University of Toronto’s Department of Geography is one of the oldest and largest geography departments in North America. The graduate program in Planning joined the department in 1982 and we are now known as the Department of Geography & Planning. Our community of geographers and planners, of scholars and practitioners, works with passion and a sense of responsibility in our research and teaching to better understand peoples and their natural and social environments, and to support communities in envisioning more just and sustainable futures. We prioritize the importance of academic freedom and the ability of our faculty and students to engage with complex and controversial issues, as described in the University of Toronto’s Statement on Freedom of Speech.

Undergraduate Geography programs are available at each of the three geography departments located across the University of Toronto’s three campuses: The Department of Geography & Planning at the St. George Campus; The Department of Geography, Geomatics and Environment at the Mississauga campus (UTM), and The Department of Human Geography at the Scarborough Campus (UTSC). This website provides an overview of the St. George campus undergraduate Geography programs and the tri-campus graduate programs in Geography & Planning. Faculty from all three of the tri-campus geography departments, and colleagues from several other units, work together to provide the vision for and the delivery of our tri-campus graduate programs in geography and planning.