The Tri-Campus Graduate Program

Welcome to the website of the Graduate Programs of the Department of Geography & Planning at the University of Toronto. The University of Toronto is a university of three campuses, the University of Toronto St. George (UTSG) founded in the early 19th century, and the University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM), and University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC), opening in the late 1960s.  

Our tri-campus graduate programs welcome faculty from geography and other departments across the tri-campus as members of our graduate faculty. Our primary partner units include the Department of Geography & Planning (UTSG), the Department of Geography, Geomatics and Environment (UTM) and the Department of Human Geography (UTSC). We are also pleased to welcome faculty with cross appointments in the Centre for Indigenous Studies (UTSG), the Department of Health and Society (UTSC), the Department of Global Development Studies (UTSC), School of the Environment (UTSG), and many others.  

Our program strengths arise from the incredible depth and breadth of scholarship captured by our diverse graduate faculty complement, and through the work and commitment of our students and faculty to their studies and to our scholarly community. Our more than 70 active faculty are widely recognized for their scholarship, teaching, and community engagement, with areas of expertise covering major and critically important emerging areas of research in human and physical geography, geographical information science, remote sensing, and planning.  

Statement on Diversity

Geography Fields of Specialization 

Collaborative Specialization

three aerial photographs of the three campuses UTM, Saint George, UTSC